Jan. 18 Gatters

ImageGenesis 37:1-38:30;  Matthew 12:22-45;  Psalm 16:1-11;  Proverbs 3:27-32

 “He who is not with me is against me, and he who does not gather with me scatters.”

 Neither gathering with Christ nor scattering?  Am I one who neither speaks up for Him, but also doesn’t say anything against Him–just to keep ‘peace’?  Am I faith neutral–believing that it’s OK to have faith in “something” or “someone” just as long as I have ‘faith’?  Isn’t that good enough?

 Jesus wouldn’t think so.  He would look me in the eye and know my heart.  He would ask me directly–“Do you believe in Me–or do you need to see a ‘sign’ before you believe?  Do you need to have a job before you believe?  Do you need to have financial security before you believe?  Do you need to see your children ‘successful’ ?  Do you need to see the world at peace before you believe?”

Lord, forgive my unbelief.  I pray that by the power of the Holy Spirit I may boldly “gather” for you–that the words of my mouth and the deeds of my life bear fruit in keeping with repentance and true faith in you.

 May I, like the Psalmist, say “Lord, you have assigned me my portion and my cup; you have made my lot secure…I have set the Lord always before me.  Because He is at my right hand I will not be shaken…You have made known to me the path of life, you will fill me with your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.” (Psalm 16: 8-11)

 Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit!  Amen

 

“Make a tree good and its fruit will be good, or make a tree bad and its fruit will be bad, for a tree is recognized by its fruit.”  Matthew 12:33

 

Leave a Reply

