Jan. 30 Turning Heads

Exodus 10:1-12:13;  Matthew 20:1-28; Psalm 25:1-15;  Proverbs 6:6-11

God has ways of getting people’s attention.

He used water turning to blood, frogs, gnats, flies, dead livestock,hail, locusts, darkness, and dead firstborn sons to turn Pharaoh’s head.

Why did it take so much?

“Then the Lord said to Moses, “Go to Pharaoh, for I have hardened his heart and the hearts of his officials so that I may perform these miraculous signs of mine among them that you may tell your children and grandchildren how I dealt harshly with the Egyptians and how I performed my signs among them, and that you may know that I am the Lord.”

God instituted the Passover at the time of the last miraculous sign–the death of all Egypt’s firstborn sons–even among the animals.

The blood covered door frames in Goshen waved on the Angel of Death and no sons were lost to the children of Israel.

God uses this story to get our attention as well–not only to show us His miracle power but to point us to the shedding Christ’s blood for us–that we who believe in Him are covered and the Angel Death passes us by–death has no eternal claim on our souls.

When I was in college I was on a collision course–spiritually–but God got my attention.  He allowed me to take quite a spill from my horse which resulted in a shattered elbow, surgery, and recuperation.  During that time,  I pulled up a book called “Guilt and Grace” by Paul Tournier.  In its pages I heard God speaking to me- “Yes, you’ve sinned, you’ve really messed up, BUT you don’t have to continue on this destructive path.  Confess your sins and believe that I forgive you and desire to make you whole.”

God got my attention and turned me “about face.”

My elbow healed and my soul was restored.

Lord God, thank you for getting my attention one way or another.  Thank you for Your Good Word–the Holy Scriptures–which are full of attention getting dramas–all of which point to the most important scene of all–the Cross and the empty tomb.  Thank You for your power made known to me through a life changed.  May I live for you!  In Jesus’ Name.  Amen

“Show me your ways, O Lord, teach me your paths;

 guide me in your truth and teach me

for You are God my Savior!.”

Leave a Reply

