Feb. 23 Amazed

Leviticus 14:1-57;  Mark 6:30-56;  Psalm 40:1-10;  Proverbs 10:11-12

I don’t get it.  The disciples, by Jesus authority, went out and healed the sick and drove out demons.  They witnessed the feeding of five thousand plus people using just five loaves of bread and two fish–with 12 baskets filled with leftovers to spare.

And yet…

When they saw Jesus walking on water…when they felt the the wind immediately cease when Jesus entered their boat “they were completely amazed.”  Mk. 6:52

I’m amazed that they were amazed–but I shouldn’t be so quick to judge “for they had not understood about the loaves;  their hearts were hardened.”  Mk. 6:52

Well, that explains it–their hearts were hardened.  But–what does that mean?

That even though the disciples witnessed miracle after miracle after miracle-that seeing wasn’t enough–wasn’t the same as believing?

When would the disciples finally “get it?”  When would the ‘eyes of their hearts’ be opened and all doubting cease?  When would they cease to be amazed?

I get it.

The disciples were mere mortals who were face to face with the Divine.  They had limited understanding.

Just like me.

Lord God, I’m often like the disciples–I’m terrified and amazed by circumstances around me.  Yet, you are with me, just as Jesus was at the side of the disciples.  He did not condemn them, but pressed on towards the goal of making disciples as he headed toward the cross.  Forgive my lack of faith–‘open my eyes Lord, that I might see Jesus’ and believe.  In His name I pray.  Amen

Leave a Reply

