April 8 Ready and Waiting

Deuteronomy 32:28-52;  Luke 12:35-59;  Psalm 78:56-64;  Proverbs 12:24

“Be dressed and ready for service, and keep your lamps burning.”  Luke 12:35

“You also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him.”  Luke 12:40

“Peter asked, ‘Lord, are you telling this parable to us, or to everyone?”  Luke 12:41

Peter wasn’t sure.

Sometimes I find it hard to know what Jesus really means–His ways are not our ways.  His thoughts are not our thoughts.

Even though I may not understand fully, just like Peter, I am to be found ready and waiting because Jesus IS faithful.  What He says, He will do.  He’s promised to come back to take all who believe to Heaven with Him.

When He comes back will he find me preoccupied with things of this world or with the things of God?  Will He find me busy serving others or serving myself?  Will He find me playing or praying?

“From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.”  Luke 12:48

I have received the priceless treasure of salvation through faith in Jesus, my Lord and Savior.  I have seen the goodness of the Lord.  I have been freed from guilt and shame.  I have an eternal destiny before me.

I have received much!

 Lord God Heavenly Father,  Thank you for making me yours through Baptism and for keeping me in the one true faith!  May I not take this gift for granted, to grow complacent or impatient.  May I be found faithful and actively engaged in loving and serving others in your name.  May I be found ready and waiting for You–In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

“O keep me watchful, then and humble,

And never suffer me to stray;

Uphold me when my feet would stumble,

And keep me faithful to your way.

Fill all my nature with your light

O Radiance strong and bright.”

                                                          J. Scheffler

Leave a Reply

