April 10 Fearless Leader

Deuteronomy 34:1-Joshua 2:24; Luke 13:22-14:16;  Psalm 79:1-13;  Proverbs 12:26

No doubt that Joshua had some doubts.  The mantle of leadership now rested on his shoulders.  The Promised Land was there for their taking–and he would be the one to lead the Israelites forward.  Could he do it?  How would he do it? 

Big questions.

Right now I feel like Joshua.  I’m facing some some challenges and I wonder if I can meet them.  Am I qualified?  Can I do it?  Will I be successful?

Big questions.

I’m sure I’m not the only one these days facing difficult situations.  I know of friends out of work, families struggling with wayward children, students puzzling over their future.

But to Joshua–and to us–comes a fearless leader.  The Lord.  The God of heaven and earth.

He tells Joshua and you and me “So I will be with you.  I will not leave you or forsake you.  Be strong and courageous.”  Joshua 1:5

Just as Joshua was empowered by the Book of the Law–God’s Word–we too are empowered by faith in Him and encouraged through His Word–“For whatever was written in former days was written for our instruction, that through endurance and through the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope.”  Romans 15:4

Our Fearless Leader knows the future.  He knows the terrain up ahead.  He promises to go with us.

If He’s not afraid, we needn’t be either.

Through faith we know our future’s final outcome as well–eternal life in Heaven with Him!

In the meantime, His words come to us…“Be strong and courageous.  Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”  Joshua 1:9

Lord God, may I cease being afraid and look to you who knows no fear, trusting you to be with me in all that I do.  Give me courage and strength to do what you have called me to do, to be found faithful even in trying times.

I especially thank and praise you for Jesus, who fearlessly went to the Cross an conquered my enemies.  Thank you for Jesus who rose from the dead and now lives!  Thank you that He intercedes for me when He hears my cries for help.  In His precious name I pray, Amen.

“Help us, O God our Savior,

for the glory of your name.”   Psalm 79:9

 

Leave a Reply

