May 19 Snatch Proof

Image

1 Samuel 24;1-25:44;  John 10:22-42;  Psalm 116:1-19;  Proverbs 15:20-21

Body snatchers–are they for real?

How about soul snatchers?

Parents fear someone snatching their children from a park or a store or even the front yard of their own home.  Parents are ever on alert–all eyes and ears making sure their little ones do not fall into evil hands.

When the kids are older and on their own, we parents pray for their spiritual as well as physical safety.  We know there are many opportunities for the evil one to try to steal their hearts and minds.

Jesus, our Good Shepherd, is always on the alert.  He’s vigilant–watching over us and protecting us from harm and danger.  His words comfort us,  “My sheep listen to my voice;  I know them, and they follow me.  I give them eternal life;  no one can snatch them out of my hand.  My Father who has given them to me, is greater than all;  no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand.  I and the Father are one.”  John 10:27-30

Through the water and Word at our Baptism we’ve been made God’s children–and He will forever hold onto us.  We need not fear being snatched.  We are in our Father’s good hands!

Lord God, what blessed assurance to know that we can never be snatched out of your hands.  We are forever secure in your everlasting arms through faith in our Lord Jesus Christ.  We thank and praise you for making us your own and for keeping us safe.  Though we face physical and spiritual challenges in our walk with you–because we live in an imperfect world and sin still clings to us–we know that you will continue to walk hand in hand with us and, as our Good Shepherd, will lead us home to be with you forever.  Be with all of our loved ones both near and far and keep them safe in your arms.  For Jesus’ sake we pray, Amen.

“I love the Lord, for he heard my voice;  he heard my cry for mercy.  Because he turned his ear to me I will call on him as long as I live.”   Psalm 116;1-2

Leave a Reply

