When God Calls Time Out

1 Kings 11:1-12:9;  Acts 9:1-25;  Psalm 131:1-13;  Proverbs 17:4-5

Hey Saul, what happened to you?

I see you’re being led by the hand…you’re blind you say?

You’ve had a change of plans?  A change of heart?

Not pursuing those who belong to the Way–those Jesus Followers?

You don’t want to talk about it?…

Can’t talk about it right now?…

I see.

Deep in darkness, Saul is in God’s “Time Out.”  A drastic measure to get Saul’s attention, slow him down, reach his heart and soul.

Has God used a time out in your life?  To slow you down, change your direction?  To get you to focus your spiritual eyes on Him and His truth?

I thank God for several major time outs in my life. 

Were they painful?  Yes.

Were they necessary?  Yes.

Was God faithful to show me the errors of my ways and to get me on the path that leads to him?  Yes!

Like Saul, we benefit from God’s Time Outs because they redirect our energies and attention to what matters most–a vital, dynamic relationship with Jesus Christ–our Lord and God!

 

Lord God, let us never doubt your use of time outs in our lives.  Help us to see that it is your great love for us and for the sake of your Son Jesus Christ who gave his life for us that you cause us to stop in our tracks.  You get our attention–you reveal our sins–you administer your grace.  May we be willing to share our time out stories with others and how you used them to draw us nearer to you–something that you want to do for all people.  We pray in Jesus’ name, Amen.

“My heart is not proud, O Lord, my eyes are not haughty;  I do not concern myself with great matters or things too wonderful for me.  But I have settled and quieted my soul;  like a weaned child with its mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me.”

Psalm 131: 1-2

 

Leave a Reply

