July 1 “I Am Ready”

Image

                                        Art by Dianna Wizner

2 Kings 18:13-19;  Acts 21:1-16;  Psalm 149:1-9;  Proverbs 18:8

“I am ready”

Paul’s words to his companions,

 brokenhearted at the news

that their dear friend

was headed for trouble

     for chains

          for prison in Jerusalem.

 

“I am ready”

was Paul’s resolve

to face the charges,

to give up his freedom

even his very life

“for the name of the Lord Jesus”

whom he served and loved.

 

“I am ready”

is on my lips?

Lord, may it be so.

For your gift of life to me

may I lose my life for you.

 

“I am ready”

to suffer for your name?

To be deprived and suffer loss?

To lose my status, job or home?

Give me strength, O Lord, in you.

 

“Let the will of the Lord be done”

graced the lips of Paul.

May they be found on mine this day, too.

Lord God, help us to be ready to go wherever you lead us, to do what you want us to do, being assured that you go with us, you strengthen us, you will keep us in the one true faith.  We pray especially this day for all missionaries throughout this world who take the Good News of Jesus Christ to those who have yet to hear.  Protect them from the powers of evil.  Guard their hearts and minds.  Bless their work for Jesus’ sake.  In His blessed name we pray, Amen.

 

One thought on “July 1 “I Am Ready”

Leave a Reply

