July 11 Bound and Determined

Image

Art by Will Wallace

 

1 Chronicles 11:1-12:18;  Acts 28:1-31;  Psalm 9:1-12;  Proverbs 19:1-3

Paul was bound–“it is because of the hope of Israel that I’m wearing this chain”  (Acts 28:20) and determined –“Boldly and without hindrance he preached the kingdom of God and taught abut the Lord Jesus.”  Acts 28:31

Jesus was bound and determined–“For this purpose I was born and for this purpose I have come into this world–to bear witness to the truth.  Everyone who is of the truth listens to me.”  John 18:37

Am I bound and determined like Paul and Christ to speak boldly and share with others the Law and the Gospel?

Am I bound and determined to search my heart, to confess my sins before God, and to seek his forgiveness?

Am I bound and determined to share the hope I have within me–that salvation comes through faith in Jesus Christ?

Am I bound and determined?

Our Father in heaven, hear our prayer for Jesus’ sake.  Bind us to you through the truth of your word; through the forgiveness of our sins and through the power of the Holy Spirit.  Enable us to boldly bear witness to your saving Grace in Christ our Lord.  Help us when we waver.  Give us your determination.  In Jesus’ name we pray, Amen

“I will praise you, O Lord, with all my heart;  I will tell of all your wonders.  I will be glad and rejoice in you;

I will sing praise to your name, O most High.”

Psalm 9:1-2

One thought on “July 11 Bound and Determined

Leave a Reply

