July 14 The Forever Kingdom

Image

1 Chronicles 16:37-18:17;  Romans 2:1-24;  Psalm 10:16-18;  Proverbs 19:8-9

King David saw a discrepancy and wanted to remedy it —“Here I am, living in a palace of cedar, while the ark of the covenant is under a tent.” 1 Chronicles 17:1  He was King living in grand style but the God he served was in a tent.  The prophet Nathan after hearing David’s lament received words from the Lord: 

“I declare to you that the Lord will build a house for you:  When your days are over…I will raise up your offspring to succeed you…I will establish his kingdom.  He is the one who will build  house for me, and I will establish his throne forever.  I will be his father, and he will be my son.  I will never take my love away from him…I will set him over my house and my kingdom forever;  his throne will be established forever.”  1 Chronicles 17:11-14

The prophet’s word came true.  Solomon, David’s son, indeed built a “house” for the Lord.  A very grand temple which in the course of time was destroyed.  But from the lineage of David came forth another son, Jesus, whose kingdom truly lasts forever.  And we who believe are the living stones of his temple built by the Spirit of God which lasts forever.

Today, on the Lord’s Day, let us worship Him in spirit and in truth! 

Lord God Heavenly Father,  thank you for keeping your promise to David to build your house–a kingdom–that will last forever.  Thank you for making us a member of your kingdom through faith.  May we worship you this day and honor you and give you thanks and praise.  May we receive your word and cherish it.  May we rejoice in your presence!  For Jesus’ sake we pray, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

