July 19 Powerless

Image

1 Chronicles 28:1-29:30;  Romans 5:6-21;  Psalm 15:1-5;  Proverbs 19:18-19

No self help books

No good intentions

No determination

No amount of self-discipline…

can erase the wrongs already done.

I want to be good.

I want to be better.

But there is only one way to wipe the slate clean:

See the sin in me…my hate, my rebellion, my disobedience, my disrespect, my envy, my lust, my greed, my lies.

See the face of Jesus…whose life was the opposite of mine…perfect…pure…sinless.

Believe He paid the price.

Confess my sin and turn away from it—and turn to Him.

“You see, at just the right time when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly.  Very rarely will anyone die for righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly die.  But God demonstrated his own love for us in this:  While we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”  Romans 5:6-8

Lord God Heavenly Father, thank you for loving me so much that you didn’t leave me alone in my sin.  Thank you for saving me by your Son’s death on the Cross.  And because He lives, I will live too.  What great love, Father, you have for the world.  May all people come to know the truth about themselves and the truth about you, to see your love demonstrated in Christ our Lord–and live!  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

4 thoughts on “July 19 Powerless

Leave a Reply

