August 1 Welcome

Image

2 Chronicles 30: 1-31:21;  Romans 15:1-22;  Psalm 25:1-15;  Proverbs 20:13-15

Christ the Holy one

welcomed unholy me;

 drew me under the waters of Baptism

and washed me clean.

He draped the welcoming banner of faith

around my shoulders and said,

“You are mine.  I will love you forever.”

Now He bids me to embrace

the unholy,

to extend the hand of fellowship,

to point to the saving water and the Word

and say, “Come, there is forgiveness

and healing in Christ’s fountain.

It’s OK to get wet,

don’t be afraid.”

Paul encouraged the Roman believers–Jews and Gentiles alike:  “May the God of endurance and encouragement grant you to live in such harmony with one another, in accord with Jesus Christ, that you together with one voice glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.  Therefore, welcome one another as Christ has welcomed you, for the glory of God.”  Romans 15:5-7

Lord God Heavenly Father, you’ve welcomed me, given me faith, embraced me as your child.  Thank you for the indescribable gift through Jesus Christ, your Son.  You’ve blessed me with unity with fellow believers all around the world.  In all this I rejoice and give you thanks and praise.  May the hope you’ve given me spill over to those around me.  Open my eyes to opportunities to speak of You and to point to the Way everlasting.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit, you may abound in hope.”  Romans 15:13

Leave a Reply

