August 15 Escape

Photo by Kevin Carden

Photo by Kevin Carden

Nehemiah 9:22-10:39;  1 Corinthians 9:19-10:13;  Psalm 34:1-10;  Proverbs 21:13

Subtle, slippery slope

of temptation

takes hold of my eyes,

my mind,

my heart.

Pleasurable and beguiling

it pulls me in

 slowly,

slyly,

evading the warning

system of my conscience.

Bad looks good.

Must be good.

Satan whispers,

“It is good.”

But Spirit speaks to spirit

and I hear God’s Word,

“Flee!”

I feel stuck, Lord.

I like this feeling–

I want more.

“…but it leads to death, my child.

Sin is sin.”

Lord, help me!

“Put your foot upon my Cross.

Take my Hand.

Believe my Word.

Trust me.

I am the Way.

I am your escape.

Therefore let anyone who thinks he stands take heed lest he fall.  No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man.  God is faithful and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.”  1 Corinthians 10:12-13

I hear His voice.

By His strength I say,

“NO!”

I turn my back.

I say YES to God.

Temptation fades,

sweat pours down,

and I am safe

on level ground.

Lord Jesus, thank you for being my escape from temptation;  for giving me your hand when I was sinking down;  for not giving up on me.  Thank you for going to the Cross;  for giving your life for me.  Your blood, sweat and tears freed me from the grip of sin and gave me a way out.  Thank you for saving me.  In your name I pray, praise and give thanks!  Amen.

“Glorify the Lord with me;  let us exalt His name together.

I sought the Lord, and He answered me;

He delivered me from all my fears.”

                                                            Psalm 34:3-4

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “August 15 Escape

Leave a Reply

