August 21 Shopping

Image

Art by Karen Arnold

Job 1:1-3:26;  1 Corinthians 14:1-17;  Psalm 37:12-29;  Proverbs 21:25-26

“Follow the way of love and eagerly desire spiritual gifts, especially the gift of prophecy.”  1 Corinthians 14:1

A walk through the “Life” Mall reveals many desirable and enticing stores:  “Success, Success”, “Security, Inc.”, “Popularity Plus”, “Infinite Intelligence”, “Beauty Forever”, “Perfect Health”, “Forever Energy”, “Conflict Free Relationships.”

It’s a busy place.  The sales are on.  People are loading up.

I’ve spent my share of time (and money)  at “Perfect Health” and “Infinite Intelligence”.

But as a believer and follower of Jesus Christ I’m looking for a different store.  Because of the incredible gift of Salvation, my needs and wants have changed.  And I’ve learned that I don’t need to “buy” the gifts I’m looking for.  The Holy Spirit at my Baptism gave me gifts for me to use in my Christian walk.

The gifts of administration and prophecy and teaching.

As a believer, what gifts has the Spirit given to you?

Pray that you may  use them to God’s Glory and your brother and sister’s good.

The great thing is–you don’t need to wait for sales–or wait in line!

Lord Jesus,  You have given me so much–and you continue to bless me with your good gifts.  Thank you!!  May I eagerly desire the spiritual gifts, especially speaking your Word to others.  Thank you for faithful believers before me and around me who have utilized the spiritual gifts you have given them for the up-building of my faith.  May I do the same.  In Your name I pray, Amen

Leave a Reply

