September 4 Good Grief

Image

Photo by Sylvia Uphoff

Ecclesiastes 7:1-9:18;  2 Corinthians 7:8-16;  Psalm 48:1-14;  Proverbs 22:17-19

“For godly grief produces a repentance that leads to salvation without regret, whereas ‘worldly’ grief produces death.  For see what earnestness this godly grief has produced in you, but also what eagerness to clear yourselves, what indignation, what fear, what longing, what zeal, what punishment.  At every point you have proved yourselves innocent in the matter.”  2 Corinthians 7:10-11

I think I’m right,

God’s Word says, “wrong.”

I focus on my feelings and justify my choice,

God’s Word says, “wrong.”

I bowl ahead with my desires,

determined to do my ‘thing,’

God’s Word says, “wrong.”

~

Wisdom’s voice gets lost in my charade,

God’s Word says, “turn.”

My heart picks up a faint yet distinct signal,

God’s Word says, “turn.”

Sleep evades me,

God’s Word says, “turn.”

Peace alludes me,

God’s Word says, “turn.”

I am not satisfied.  I am not at ease.

God’s Word says, “turn.”

~

“Come unto me all you who labor and are heavy laden

and I will give you rest.”  (Matthew 11:28)

~

I admit my guilt and hang my head,

God’s Word says, “repent.”

I acknowledge my sin,

God’s Word says, “repent.”

~

I sorrow over my stubbornness of heart and will,

God’s Word says, “forgiven.”

I lament the wasted time and energy,

God’s Word says, “forgiven.”

I grieve that I sorely “missed the mark” and

sinned against my Lord and God.

He says, “I love you.  You are forgiven.

Go in peace.”

~

And I do.

Heavenly Father, by your gracious Word you lead us to repentance.  You remove our guilt and wipe our slates clean.  You do not treat us as our sins deserve.  Because of Christ’s sacrificial work on the Cross, our grief can be good.  Thank you, Father, for godly grief that works repentance in our hearts and enables us to continue our walk with you.  May your word continue to produce good grief when we err and restore to us a right spirit.  For Jesus’ sake we pray, Amen.

“O give thanks unto the Lord;  for he is good and his steadfast love endures forever!”  1 Chronicles 16:34

 

7 thoughts on “September 4 Good Grief

  1. Pingback: fear, guilt, grief, and the withdrawing of condemnation | power of language blog: partnering with reality by JR Fibonacci

  2. Pingback: the surprising connection between guilt and grief | power of language blog: partnering with reality by JR Fibonacci

Leave a Reply

