September 7 Clean

Image

Song of Songs 5:1-8:14;  2 Corinthians 9:1-15;  Psalm 51:1-19;  Proverbs 22:24-26

“Cleanliness is next to godliness.”

Some folks attribute this quote to Charles Wesley.  Some to Ben Franklin.  Whoever penned it echoed what King David of the Old Testament learned the hard way.

Psalm 51 is David’s firsthand account of dirt and soap.

David’s heart broke with godly sorrow after the prophet, Nathan, confronted him with his sin of adultery and murder.  No amount of self-justification (I’m king–I can do what I want) could hold David’s heart and soul together.  He broke under the truth.

Before God, David admitted his sin and asked for forgiveness.

God granted it.

David’s heart mended under God’s cleaning.

And rather than keep his whole affair “quiet” David declared that he would tell others of God’s mercy for sinners like him.

It’s a beautiful psalm.  A very personal psalm.  A hopeful psalm.  A psalm for you and me.

If your heart breaks under guilt and shame, know that your Savior’s body and blood shed for you on the cross is the perfect cleaning solution for you.

Cleanliness is next to godliness–that’s the business of the Cross!

Lord God, “wash me thoroughly from my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin…purge me with hyssop and I shall be clean, wash me and I shall be whiter than snow…create in me a clean heart O God and renew a right spirit within me.” (Psalm 51:2,7,10)  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

“O Lord open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise!”  Psalm 51:15

 

6 thoughts on “September 7 Clean

  1. I appreciated the background information you gave us about the quote and Psalm 51. The song based on this Psalm is one of my favorites to sing when I am by myself. It is only God who can cleanse and renew our spirit.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  2. Thank you for helping me remove yet another grain of guilt from my life and reminding me of God’s mercy and forgiveness….blessings…..

    Diana

    dewolfstudio@att.net

    314-965-6393

    Pray as though everything depends on God

    Work as though everying depends on you.

Leave a Reply

