September 28 Covered

Image

Photo by Chris Manfre

Isaiah 54:1-57:13;  Ephesians 6:1-24;  Psalm 70:1-5;  Proverbs 24:8

In cover of darkness

he comes

sliding silently

alongside my bed,

disturbing my sleep,

setting my heart to pounding,

my breath to shallowness.

 

No more than a shapeless form

he wields his menacing glower

to poke holes

in my security.

 

Startled from dreams

I gasp

I sit

I speak–

“Get thee hence Satan,

in the name of Jesus

whose blood covers me.”

 

In an instant he’s gone.

Peace envelopes,

sleep returns

and I rest

beneath the shadow of

my Savior’s wings.

 

“Finally be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.  For our struggle is not against flesh and blood but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world  and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realm.”  Ephesians 6:10-12

Lord God, your Son wrestled with the Evil one on more than one occasion.  And the Word of God on his lips kept Satan at bay.  Likewise, because of Christ’s final triumph over sin, death and the devil on the Cross, we too can fell the enemy with one little word–“Jesus”.  Thank you for winning this victory for us.  Grant that we ever be ready with your Word of truth in our mouths and to stand firm in your strength when the devil comes knocking on our door.  In Jesus’ name we pray, Amen.

“Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.”  Ephesians 6:13

 

 

5 thoughts on “September 28 Covered

  1. Excellent post! And the father of lies does come a calling and the night is one of his favorites times for stalking. It wasn’t too long ago that I awoke to his torments and the precious name of Jesus rescued me once again. Blessings, Natalie

  2. What a privilege it is to be “one of His own.” The burden of guilt and sin is off our shoulders and His peace covers all.

Leave a Reply

