October 16 Plans

Image

Art by Kevin Cardin

Jeremiah 28:1-29:32;  1 Timothy 1:1-20;  Psalm 86:1-17;  Proverbs 25:17

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”  Jeremiah 29:11

 

Stuck in a dead end job

on a dead end street

no where to go, no way out.

Trapped in someone else’s dream

of success

big car, big house,

big boat,

big life,

but, oh, so very empty.

Took the easy way,

a little lie here,

a little lie there.

What could it hurt?

Then the easy way

morphed

into a monster–

a highway of deceit

taking me farther from

the truth, from myself.

Prophets preached “prosperity.”

Do your own thing,

You only live once.

Try this, try that.

Feeling good is where it’s at–

or so I heard.

No one’s looking, no one’s there.

And if they aren’t,

why care?

Plans?

Mine didn’t work out too well.

Time to hang it up,

throw in the towel.

Not much to live for,

not much to tell.

Till a friend came to me,

inclined his ear

and listened, really listened,

to the pain, the confusion and shame.

He knew I was lost,

and offered a way

 to wholeness and life.

“Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,

that saved a wretch like me.

I once was lost, but now am found,

Was blind, but now I see.”

I see Jesus.

Lord God, your plans saved me.  Your Sons’ virgin birth was planned.  His ministry on earth was planned.  His death on the cross was planned.  His glorious resurrection was planned.  His Ascension was planned. His Second Coming is planned.  And you’ve planned to take all who believe in Him to be with you in Heaven forever!  Thank you for your wonderful plans!  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

“But you O, Lord are a compassionate and gracious God,  slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.”  Psalm 86:15

 

2 thoughts on “October 16 Plans

Leave a Reply

