October 17 Mercy Not Macy’s

 

Image

Jeremiah 30:1-31:26;  1 Timothy 2:1-15;  Psalm 87:1-7;  Proverbs 25:18-19

“I also want women to dress modestly, with decency and propriety, not with braided hair or gold or pearls or expensive clothes, but with good deeds, appropriate for women who profess to worship God.”  1 Timothy 2:9-10

What to wear?  What to wear?

The invitation to the “Big Event” arrives and raises the question, what to wear?

I must confess that I get thrown into a panic at such times.

Why?

I don’t want to look out of place?  Inferior?  Outdated?  Inappropriate?

Is it because I feel a need to make an impression?  To have all eyes on me?  To accomplish the “to turn heads” goal?

At times like those when I’m asking –what to wear?–I do well to take note of St. Paul’s recommendations that he wrote to Timothy to pass on to the women in his congregation.

As a woman of faith, be more concerned with my inner “looks”.  As a woman redeemed by the Lord, let my inner light light shine.  As a woman whose sins are no longer counted against her, let  peace and joy grace my face.  As a woman who knows how precious she is in God’s sight, let me enter a room seeking to serve rather than to be served.

Let my actions reflect the goodness of the Lord in my life.

When the invite meets my eyes let my first thought be “mercy” rather than Macy’s!

Lord God Heavenly Father, you dress me in your Son’s righteousness which shines brighter than all the gold and pearls on the planet.  May I live my life that I reflect my faith in you.  May  acts of love and service to others dress me suitably to the faith I profess.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

2 thoughts on “October 17 Mercy Not Macy’s

  1. Laura, I love your title: Mercy not Macy’s. I suspect that you turn heads regardless of your attire; a woman who is at peace and filled with the Lord’s joy is going to draw curious glances from those who are attracted to the Light.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

Leave a Reply

