October 23 Headline

Image

Photo by Daisy Farhat

Jeremiah 42:1-44:23;  2 Timothy 2:1-21;  Psalm 92:1-93:5;  Proverbs 26:3-5

“It is good to give thanks to the Lord, to sing praises to your name, O Most High;  to declare your steadfast love in the morning…For you O Lord have made me glad by your work;  at the work of your hands, I sing for joy!”  Psalm 92:1-4

I’ve yet to read the morning newspaper or to hear the latest headlines on the radio.  When I do I won’t be surprised by news of shootings, political wranglings, coverups, blowups, and such.

Sad and frustrating as the news may be it cannot alter the deep, abiding reality of a sovereign God who knows all and sees all.

“that though the wicked sprout like grass and evil doers flourish, they are doomed to destruction forever.”  Psalm 92:7-8

Those who seem to be getting away with murder–won’t.

Those whose secret schemes seem to make them rich–will be found out.

Truth be told, I am like those who make the headlines–I sin.  I scheme and do foolish things.

BUT

I know the Savior who called me out of darkness into His marvelous light.

He forgave my sins, my foolish schemes, and changed my headline forever!

Lord God, by grace you have changed me so that my life does not read like a sordid news story.  Your love and forgiveness transformed me–that’s the Good News!  And for that I give you my thanks and praise!  Help me this day to rely on your sovereign power and wisdom to lead a life that pleases you.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

“The righteous flourish like the palm tree and grow like a cedar in Lebanon.  They are planted in the house of the Lord;  they flourish in the courts of our God.  They still bear fruit in old age.  They are ever full of sap and green, to declare that the Lord is upright;  He is my rock and there is no unrighteousness in him.”  Psalm 92:12-15

2 thoughts on “October 23 Headline

Leave a Reply

