November 7 Done Deal

Image

Photo by Brendan Sceroler

Ezekiel 16:43-17:24;  Hebrews 8:1-13;  Psalm 106:13-31;  Proverbs 27:7-9

“for this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel…

I will will put my laws into their minds,

and write them on their hearts,

and I will be their God

and they shall be my people.”

Hebrews 8:10

 

Jesus did what we could not do–He kept the Law perfectly.  He met all of God’s demands for holiness.  Something we could never accomplish.

Still we think we can make deals with God,  “If only you will protect my son from the consequences of his bad behavior, then I’ll go to church every Sunday.”  “If only you won’t let me get caught…I will pray every day.”  “If only…”

We are deal makers. 

But Jesus is the real deal.  He says, “Come unto me all of you who are weary and I will give you rest.”

Yes, we’re weary of our sins, of trying to make deals with God, of failing to keep up our end of the bargain.

Jesus comforts. “I’ve come to you.  I’ve done what you can’t do–I’ve made peace with God.  I gave my perfect life for yours on the Cross.  My Father will remember your sins no more.  It’s a done deal.”

Lord God, thank you for the new promise you gave to us:  that all who call upon the name of your Son, Jesus, will be saved.  No more wheeling and dealing.  You called us to faith.  You’ve put your love in our hearts and the desire to serve and know you in our minds.  Thank you for this undeserved gift.  May we live today for you.  In Jesus’ name, we pray, Amen.

Love in Christ is strong and living

binding faithful hearts in one.

Love in Christ is true and giving.

May his will in us be done.

 

~  Dorothy Schultz

 

2 thoughts on “November 7 Done Deal

Leave a Reply

