December 10 Inbox

Image

Image by Tessa Harvey

Amos 1:1-3:15;  Revelation 2:1-11;  Psalm 129:1-8;  Proverbs 29:19-20

Jesus messaged seven churches through the Apostle John.  John recorded these letters in the Book of Revelation.  Let’s look at the first message:

To the Church in Ephesus:  “I know your deeds, your hard work, and your perseverance…I know you cannot tolerate wicked men…you’ve persevered and have endured hardship.”  Revelation 2:2-3

But

“You have forsaken your first love…Repent and do the things you did at first.”  Revelation 2:4-5

Ouch.

Big ouch.

Jesus looks into my heart and asks  “Do you love me?”

Am I the super church volunteer? 

Am I the one who stands up to those who want to twist God’s word and conform it to popular culture?

But have I neglected my “first love”–my single minded devotion to my Lord and Savior–so that all I do “for Him” is more out of duty, pride and tradition?

Thank God He’s giving me an opportunity to repent.  He’s willing to forgive.  He will still draw near.  Thank you for dropping me a line in my inbox today, Lord.  I needed to hear your truth.

Lord Jesus, forgive me for not loving you with all my heart, all my soul, all my mind and all my strength.  For not keeping you at the center of all I do.  For having wrong motivations.  Forgive me for not just being with you–worshiping you, praising you, acknowledging you in every area of my life.  Forgive me for trying to make you revolve around my life, rather than humbly ordering my life around you.  Help me to look to the Cross where your love for all mankind is made known.  In your precious name I pray, Amen.

4 thoughts on “December 10 Inbox

Leave a Reply

