December 11 Wake Up!

Image

Photo by Lyle Detwiler

Amos 4:1-6:14;  Revelation 2:18-3:6;  Psalm 130:1-8;  Proverbs 29:21-22

“I know your works.  You have the reputation of being alive, but you are dead.  Wake up and strengthen what remains and is about to die, for I have not found your works complete in the sight of my God.  Remember then what you received and heard.  Keep it, and repent!  If you will not wake up, I will come like a thief and you will not know at what hour I will come against you.”  Revelation 3:1-3

Jesus sees the ember of faith very faintly glowing in the hearts of Sardis’ Christians.  Once brightly burning, but now…

Now…Christ calls them out for their dwindling devotion to him. He calls them to remembrance– Remember the cross!  Remember my victory over sin, death and evil which is NOW your victory by faith.  Remember I am coming again!  Remember how much I love you!  Turn away from your indifference, from going through the motions, from your facade.  Repent!  Wake up!  Be real in me!

Lord Jesus, fan into flame my flickering faith so that my words and actions truly reflect the faith you’ve bestowed upon me through the waters of Baptism.  Feed this fire of faith through your Body and Blood at your Holy Supper.  Thank you for remaining faithful to me–for giving me a much needed wake-up call.  May I heed it-feel my feet touch the floor of service and devotion and –get going!  In your name I pray and praise!  Amen.

“The one who conquers will be clothed thus in white garments and I will never blot his name out of the book of life.  I will confess his name before my Father and before his angels.”  Revelation 3:5

 

Leave a Reply

