December 12 Hold On

Image

Image by Amy Beth

Amos 7:1-9:15;  Revelation 3:7-22;  Psalm 131:1-3;  Proverbs 29:23

“Because you have kept my word about patient endurance, I will keep you from the hour of trial that is coming on the whole world to try those who dwell on earth.  I am coming soon.  Hold fast what you have, so that no one my seize your crown.”  Revelation 3:10-11

Years ago when kids were small,

just before Christmas

we got the call,

“You’re fired,” they said.

Our world was shaken,

shattered indeed

for a stay at home mom

with mouths to feed.

What’s next?  What do we do?

We pray–and pray

and do the next thing.

“Trust me with all your heart,”

He said.

“I’ll provide for you–just rest

in Me.”

Christmas came and Christmas went.

The greatest gift of all received,

Hope in Jesus.

He came–and

He’s coming again.

“I am coming soon.”

Lord God, in the trying times of life when our world is shaken, thank you for keeping us strong in you through faith.  Thank you for hearing our prayers, for meeting our needs, for giving us hope, for loving us.  Thank you for Brothers and Sisters in Christ who gave of themselves to help us “hold fast” and not lose hope.  Lord, grant that we be ready and willing to do the same for others when we see the need.  May we help the shaken to stand firm in their faith even as we have been helped.  For Jesus’ sake we pray, Amen.

“The one who conquers, I will make him a pillar in the temple of my God.  Never shall he go out of it, and I will write on him the name of my God..and my own new name.”  Revelation 3:12

Leave a Reply

