December 14 Time Out

Image

Image by Bryan Switolski

Jonah 1:1-4:11;  Revelation 5:1-14;  Psalm 133:1-3;  Proverbs 29:26-27

“The word of the Lord came to Jonah, son of Amittai:  “Go to to the great city of Nineveh and preach against it, because it’s wickedness has come up before me.”

     But Jonah ran away from the Lord…

       Jonah 1:1-3

 

I’ve run the other way

closed me ears to God’s call.

Tried to get away

didn’t get too far.

 

God provided a time out–

a gulp of a “whale”

to stop me in my tracks.

 

His Word turned me around

while sitting at His feet.

Time in His presence

overcame defeat.

 

Love and compassion

and forgiveness of  my sin

buoyed me up

made me strong in Him.

 

His time out for me

–like Jonah

accomplished God’s purpose

like Christ upon the tree.

 

Time out.

 

Lord God, thank you for the times you’ve said to me, “just stop!” “look to me”  “stop running.”  Thank you for the big “fish” in my life–situations that were difficult and trying but so effective for showing me your ways which are always good and right and true.  Help me be faithful to your call–to go into all the world and make disciples.  Point me in the direction you want me to go.  For Jesus’ sake, Amen.

“But you brought my life up from the pit, O Lord, my God.”   Jonah 2:6

Leave a Reply

