December 18 Yet Rejoice!

Image

Photo by Nathan Ward

Habakkuk 1:1-3:19;  Revelation 9:1-21;  Psalm 137:1-9;  Proverbs 30:10

“Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines;

though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food,

though there are no sheep in the pens and no cattle in the stalls,

yet I will rejoice in in the Lord,

I will be joyful in God my Savior.

The Sovereign Lord is my strength; 

He makes my feet like the feet of a deer,

he enables me to go on the heights.”

Habakkuk 3:17-19

 

In the absence of all this world holds dear–

beauty, fame, power, wealth–

yet will I rejoice and be joyful in God my Savior!

 

In the face of disaster, disappointment, and decay

yet will I rejoice and be joyful in God my Savior!

 

Confronted with ridicule, rejection and scorn,

yet will I rejoice and be joyful in God my Savior!

 

Why?

I have His promises!

He will never leave me nor forsake me.  Deuteronomy 31:6, Hebrews 13:5

He is going to prepare a place for me.  John 14:3

He who is in me is greater than he who is in the world.  1 John 4:4

He has overcome the world.  John 16:33

He has given me everlasting life through faith in His Son.  John 3:16

Just dwelling on those words propels me above the fray

and frazzle of this world.

God leads me to higher heights and enables me to stand firm!

Lord, I thank you for Habakkuk’s comforting and encouraging words–to rejoice in You even when there is no cause to rejoice,  when troubles and trials abound.  Thank you for granting us strength through faith.  Even though we may not “have it all” in this lifetime, we rejoice that because of Jesus’ work of salvation on the Cross, we will experience everlasting joy and peace in Heaven with You.  Praise You for You are our all in all!  In Your Name we pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

