January 8 Good Question

Image

Photo by Anthony Schaefer

Genesis 18:20-19:38;  Matthew 6:25-7:14;  Psalm 8:1-9; Proverbs 2:6-15

“Is not life more than food,

and the body more than clothing?

Matthew 6:25

Jesus asks a very good question–a good teaching question.

How would you answer him?

I’m sure I would raise my hand quickly and respond, “yes!”

And then Jesus would gently ask me, “do you really believe that?”

Do I really believe that life is more than just day to day existence–feeding and clothing my body, sleeping and exercising, working, relating and then doing it all over again the next day?

Jesus asked a very good question, because many days I give in to worry about “bills”, health, the future and He wants me to know that He has the answer–“trust me”  “don’t worry”  “let tomorrow worry about tomorrow”.

He says–‘I took care of all your tomorrows on the cross–your future is secure with me.’

Lord, help me to live each day one at a time.  Thank you for securing my future–as well as my well-being  today.  Thank you for your Word that proclaims your faithfulness.  When I call to you, you answer.  Lord, may I be found faithful to You this day.  For Jesus’ sake, Amen.

“For the Lord gives wisdom, and from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.

He holds victory in store for the upright,

he is a shield to those whose walk is blameless,

for he guards the course of the just and protects the way of his faithful ones.”

Proverbs 2:6-7

 

Leave a Reply

