February 26 Beside Myself

Image

Image by Samuel Kaylor

Leviticus 19:1-20:21;  Mark 8:11-38;  Psalm 42:1-11;  Proverbs 10:17

“Why are you downcast, O my soul?

Why so disturbed within me?

Put your hope in God,

for I will yet praise him,

my Savior and my God.”

Psalm 42:5

Recently, a rhino virus got the best of me and took me ‘out of commission’ for the better part of a week.  One day my ‘downcast soul’ started to get the better of me as well, so I grabbed a family hymnal and started reading and singing praise songs.

Confessing with my mouth the greatness and goodness of God pushed back the dark clouds. 

My head still feels ‘in a fog’ but my spirit is revived.

King David who wrote Psalm 42 was beside himself at times with fear and worry.  With enemy taunts and threats on all sides, he knew he couldn’t save himself from his enemies. But as he praised God and focused on the One who could save him, his soul was revived.  He remembered and praised the God who helped him slay a giant and protected him from a crazy king Saul.

Feeling beside yourself today?

Take heart!  Your Savior and your God is there with you!

He who has defeated sin, death and Satan on the Cross is here to lift you up.

Lord God, thank you for always being by my side–even when I am beside myself!  Your peace that passes understanding centers me and calms me and gives me hope. Thank and praise your Holy Name.  Knowing that you have already defeated our deadliest enemies through your suffering and death on the Cross, gives me strength to meet another day.  May Your Word dwell in me richly and produce good works to your glory.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

 

2 thoughts on “February 26 Beside Myself

  1. While reading your post and especially the referenced Scripture, Psalm 42:5, at the beginning; my thoughtq went to Nahum 1:7, “The LORD is good, a refuge in time of trouble. He cares for those who trust in him” and Psalm 146:8, “The LORD gives sight to the blind, the LORD lifts up those who are bowed down, the LORD loves the righteous”. A great reminder that our LORD is always near and dear to us, during the good and not so good times of our life.

    Blessing to you and family … Mikey

Leave a Reply

