February 28 Pedestal Pride

Image

Photo by Kelly Sikkema

 

Leviticus 22:17-23:44;  Mark 9:30-10:12;  Psalm 44:1-8;  Proverbs 10:19

“And they came to Capernaum.  And when he was in the house he asked them, “What were you discussing on the way?”  But they kept silent, for on the way they had argued with one another about who was the greatest.  And he sat down, and called the twelve.  And he said to them, “If anyone would be first, he must be last of all and servant of all.”  And he took a child and put him in the midst of them, and taking him in his arms, he said to them, “Whoever receives one such child in my name receives me, and whoever receives me, receives not me but him who sent me.”  Mark 9:33-37

Who were the disciples comparing themselves to anyway?  Maybe the three who just saw Jesus transfigured–gleaming bright white on the mountaintop felt themselves having the “edge.”  Maybe the disciple who was in charge of the money coffers deemed himself the greatest.

Needless to say, Jesus knew what was in their hearts and minds.

Jesus,  with his humble posture of sitting among them, embracing a child and using himself as an example, pulled them down from their prideful pedestals.

Jesus would be the least of all and the servant of all when in the near future he would allow himself to be nailed to the cross.  He served all of mankind as our Lamb sacrifice for tour sins.

Lord God, please forgive me when I have nurtured attitudes of superiority;  when I‘ve climbed upon a pedestal of my own making; when I’ve stood on the shelf of “I’m not as bad as….” Lord, you willingly died for my sins of pride and prejudice.  May I remember the cross and you lifted up upon it on my behalf and see myself as I truly am–a redeemed sinner now completely forgiven!  May I gladly identify with you as Servant of all.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

