March 1 Look and Love

Image

Image by Pierce Brantley

Leviticus 24:1-25:46;  Mark 10:13-31;  Psalm 44:9-26;  Proverbs 10:20-21

“As Jesus started on his way, a man ran up to him and fell on his knees before him.  “Good teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit eternal life?”

   “Why do you call me good?” Jesus answered.  “No one is good–except God alone.  You know the commandments: ‘Do not murder, do not commit adultery, do not steal, do not give false testimony, do not defraud, honor your father and mother.”

  “Teacher,” he declared, “all these have I kept since I was a boy.”

       Jesus looked at him and loved him.”  Mark 10:17-21

 

Jesus looks at me,

looks past my pride,

my fear,

my sins.

Looks past my hallowed

‘to do’ list of

good works.

Looks deep into my heart-

my childish,

eager-to-please

and

keep-the-peace

heart.

And

sees me

whom he

loves.

“One thing you lack,” he said.  “Go, sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven.  Then come follow me.”

  At this the man’s face fell.  He went away sad, because he had great wealth.”  Mark 10:21-22

 

His love melts away

the layers of self-justification

and reveals the

true me.

His look of love

directs a laser light

into the deep places

and casts a bright message

of forgiveness and

of hope.

Lord God, thank you for sending your son, Jesus Christ whose look of love changed my heart, my life.  His love wrapped me in forgiveness and allowed faith to take root.  He came not into this world to condemn it, but to save it.  Thank you for shining the light of truth–to show me my sins and to show me the way to the Savior.  In His Name I pray, praise and give thanks, Amen!

Leave a Reply

