April 5 Words

Image

Image by Laurie Cosgrove

Deuteronomy 28:1-68;  Luke 11:14-36;  Psalm 77:1-20; Proverbs 12:18

“Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.”  Proverbs 12:18

As a little girl I learned:  “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me.”

Supposedly that little ditty was supposed to gird me up and make me less vulnerable to the hurtful words of others.

I didn’t like that little ditty, because the childish, rashly spoken words of other kids really did slash and sting and make me feel bad.

Especially when I was most vulnerable–like when we moved to a new neighborhood, when my collie got run over by a car, and when my best friend moved away.

Through the years as my faith has grown and I see myself as Christ sees me I’m not as vulnerable to demeaning or condescending words.  I am the Lord’s and I am reminded of His love and faithfulness to me.  I need not dwell on rash, reckless words.  I can look to the Cross–it’s so much better than the ditty I learned as a girl.

I can also pray for those who spew reckless words–pray that their hearts can be filled with the knowledge of God’s love and salvation.  I can pray that God’s healing words of hope reach their ears.

Lord God, May I forgive those whose reckless words have wielded damage.  Forgive me for reckless words that have come from my lips.  May your words of wisdom be on my lips to bring comfort, truth, healing to those who need to hear them.  May I remember the words spoken on the Cross by our Lord–words of forgiveness, of love and comfort, of care and consideration for others.  Thank you for your living Word!  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

6 thoughts on “April 5 Words

  1. Laura, thank you for sharing a little bit about your own childhood. I am working on a post about bullying and these words of yours inspire me to include Proverbs 12:18 in it. I often recall what Paul said about how he doesn’t care for the words of man and that he does not even judge himself. We are who God says we are.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

Leave a Reply

