May 5 Sent To Messes

Image

Photo by Russell Martin

Judges 21:1- Ruth 1:22;  John 4:4-42;  Psalm 105:1-15;  Proverbs 14:25

“Now he (Jesus) had to go through Samaria.  So he came to a town called Sychar…Jacob’s well was there, and Jesus, tired as he was from the journey, sat down by the well.  It was about the sixth hour.  When a Samaritan woman came to draw water, Jesus said to her, “Will you give me a drink?”  The Samaritan woman said to him, “You are a Jew and I’m a Samaritan woman.  How can you ask me for a drink? (for Jews don’t associate with Samaritans.”  John 4:4-9

A woman–

part Jew part Gentile

mixed up

messed up

thirsty

meets up with the Messiah

who also thirsts

with longing to

draw her

to the living water that

only He can give.

 

He comes to messes

like her

with the message

of hope

that what has happened

in the past

need not determine

the future

if one drinks deeply

from the well

of repentance

and is filled with

assurance of sins

forgiven.

 

The woman,

 mess turned messenger

talks to the town

bids them come

to the well.

More messes come

take drink,

and are filled to

life everlasting.

 

Thirst quenched.

 

“They said to the woman, we no longer believe just because of what you said;  now we have heard for ourselves, and we know that this man really is the Savior of the world.”  John 4:42

Lord God, thank you for saving messes like me–for giving me the thirst quenching truth of your love and grace and mercy–that my sins are forgiven and you remember them no more.  Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit!  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

“And Jesus said, “Come to the water

stand by my side.

I know you are thirsty

you won’t be denied.

I’ve felt every teardrop

when in darkness

you cried

and I strove to remind you

that for those tears

I died.”

 

Leave a Reply

