May 8 Truth Teller

Image

Photo by Lauren Rees

1 Samuel 2:22-29;  John 5:24-47;  Psalm 106:1-12;  Proverbs 14:30-31

“I tell you the truth, whoever hears my words and believes who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned;  he has crossed over from death to life.  I tell you the truth, a time is coming and has come, when the dead will hear the voice of the Son of God and those who hear will live.”  John 5:25-25

 

The cherubic face of  ‘Colton Burpo’  with its big blue eyes filled the movie screen.  Hollywood certainly got my attention with the 4 year old actor’s depiction of a boy who near death, left his body and visited Heaven.

Do I believe his story?

Do I need to believe his story to believe that Heaven is for real?

Heaven is real because the One in whom I believe says that it is real.

Jesus, the one who spoke to me while I was dead in my sin, raised me to life through His word and the Waters of Baptism.  He instilled faith in my heart and made me His child.

Heaven is for real whether the “world” believes it or not.

God is for real, whether the “world” believes in Him or not.

Jesus is for real, whether, the “world” recognizes Him or not.

I believe that the “dead” can hear the Word of God and live.

Just as the young dead man heard Jesus say, “Young man, I say to you, arise.” Luke 7:14,

Just as Lazarus,dead for four days in the grave heard Jesus cry out with a loud voice, “Lazarus, come out.” John 11:43,

so Jesus comes to those dead in sin and says  ‘Believe in me and live!  Believe that I died on the cross for your sins–and live!’

The movie, Heaven Is For Real, mentions that God is love–and He is–but I wish that it would have told the whole truth:

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in him will never die but have everlasting life.  For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him.”  John 3:16-17

Lord God, enable we who believe in You to be truth tellers–of the whole truth–that while we were yet sinners Christ died for all us.  Heaven is for real because You are real.  And your son’s death on the Cross and His glorious resurrection power over sin, death and the devil opens Heaven’s gates for all who believe this truth.  Lord, may your truth continue to be made known to the nations for Jesus’ sake whom we love and serve, Amen.

4 thoughts on “May 8 Truth Teller

    • You’re very welcome, Karen! Movies like Heaven Is For Real give us opportunities to tell the whole story–to fill in the blanks (essential ones!) that Hollywood leaves out! Blessings ~ Laura

  1. Laura, good on you for being a Truth teller. Hopefully movies like that will at least be used to stir up a desire for Truth. There’s usually a lot of little steps along the way before a true conversion happens in a heart. Only the Holy Spirit can unveil the eyes of the lost. Let’s keep praying for those we have in our circle of acquaintances.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

Leave a Reply

