May 10 Wonder Bread

Image

Photo by Lucindy Garcia

1 Samuel 8:1-9:27;  John 6:22-42;  Psalm 106:32-48;  Proverbs 14:34-35

 

“Jesus said to them, “I tell you the truth, it is not Moses who has given you the bread the bread from heaven, but it is my Father who gives you the true bread from heaven.  For the bred of God is he who comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.”

      “Sir,” they said, “from now on give us this bread.”

      Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life.  He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty.”  John 6:32-35

 

Search not the shelves

of Shop and Save

for bread that satisfies.

Look not to politicians

to stretch out helping

hands.

Toil not in vain

till strength is spent

for that which does

nourish.

Look up,

my soul.

Look up

to heaven

and accept the

Bread of Life.

Wonder bread,

Christ our Lord

broken and given

for you.

You will be

forever filled.

Lord God, this day may I look to you alone to fill my longing heart, to ease my fears, to give relief to doubting thoughts. You, who gave your only Son, who feeds the world with grace have mercy on me and forgive my sins, for Jesus’ sake.  Fill me with your Wonder Bread and let me live for You.  I praise your holy name–Father, Son, and Holy Spirit!  Amen.

Leave a Reply

