May 16 Fill Up and Drink Deep

Image

Photo by Danny J

1 Samuel 18:5-19;   John 8: 31-59; Psalm 112:1-10;  Proverbs 15:12-14

“If you abide in my word,

you are truly my disciples,

and you will know the truth,

and the truth will set you free.”

John 8:31

 

“Whoever is of God,

hears the word of God.”

John 8:47

 

“Truly, truly, I say to you,

if anyone keeps my word,

he will never see death.”

John 8:51

‘You are what you eat.’

Really?

Feed yourself junk food, and you’re junk?

Feed yourself rich fare, and you’re rich?

Feed yourself 100% organic, and you’re pure?

Hmmmmmmm…..

While there may be some truth to that, there is real Truth concerning Spiritual food:

St. Bernard of Clairvaux writes:

“I wish to follow with all my strength the lowly Jesus;  I wish Him, who loved me and gave Himself for me, to embrace me with the arms of His love, which suffered in my stead; but I must also feed on the Pascal Lamb,for unless I eat His Flesh and drink His Blood I have no life in me.  It is one thing to follow Jesus, another to hold Him, another to feed on Him.  To follow Him is a life giving purpose;  to hold and embrace Him a solemn joy; to feed on Him a blissful life.”

Lord God, apart from You I have no real life.  Thank you for making me Your own through faith, begun in the waters of Baptism and nourished through Your Holy Word and the Body and Blood of Your Son in the Lord’s Supper.  Through Word and Sacrament You preserve me in this world until I am safely home with You in Heaven.  Lord, I pray that all believers may find their strength, their joy, their bliss in You.  And I pray that Your Holy Spirit will move more hearts and minds to know Your Truth, to know Your Son Jesus Christ, to know of His Redeeming Love.  In His name I pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

