May 23 To The End

Image

Image by Kyle Reed

2 Samuel 2:12-3:39;  John 13:1-30;  Psalm 119:1-16;  Proverbs 15:29-30

“Now before the Feast of the Passover, when Jesus knew that his hour had come to depart out of this world to the Father, having loved his own who were in the world, he loved them to the end.”  John 13:1

 

“This is it.

I am the Pascal Lamb

for the world.

My Body and Blood

given for you…

and you…

and you.

Bread and wine

remembrance,

never forget

how much I love you

how I gave my life

for you…

and you…

and you.

 

This world is not your

forever home.

Where I am, there

you shall also be

with the Father Creator

in Paradise splendor.

 

My Presence will satisfy

and keep you

to the end.

So, come, take eat,

this is my Body.

Take drink,

this is my Blood

given and shed

for you…

and you…

and you

for the forgiveness

of all your sins.

 

This is it-

the forever Feast

for those I love

to the end.”

Lord, I am touched by the special mention of how you loved your disciples to the very end.  They were with you from the beginning of your ministry.  They learned and labored and loved right beside you.  And you faithfully loved them in spite of their fears, their insecurities, their pride and their doubts.  I know you will love me to the end as well.  Your gift of your Body and Blood in the Lord’s Supper reminds me of the sacrifice you made so that my sins can be forgiven and of your never ending love for those who call upon your name.  Thank you Lord Jesus for your very Presence in my life when I kneel at the Pascal Table and receive the bread and wine.  In Your Name I pray, Amen.

Leave a comment