May 25 Peace Like No Other

Image

Photo by Paul Burger

2 Samuel 7:1-8:18;  John 14:15-31;  Psalm 119:33-48;  Proverbs 15:33

“Peace I leave with you;

my peace I give you.

I do not give to you

as the world gives.

Do not let your hearts

be troubled

and do not be afraid.”

John 15:27

 

How would you describe world peace?

   The absence of war…crime…poverty?

         Perfect harmony in relationships?

What makes the peace that Jesus gives to us different?

   The absence of fear in the midst of conflict…illness…tragedy…difficult circumstances?

What have you experienced?

    World peace?

          The peace of God?

Which peace is truly possible?

Lord, I thank you for your peace which passes all human understanding–a peace which I have experienced when bank accounts were low, when depression lingered long, when I’ve had more questions than answers, when relationships were strained.  Your peace comes to me freely because I’ve been made your Child through Faith.  Your perfect love casts out all my fears.  Forgive me Lord for the times when I have doubted your love and have let worries and fears dominate my thoughts.  Help me to keep my eyes on You…on the Cross of Christ…and off of myself.  For Jesus’ sake I pray, Amen.

        

Leave a Reply

