June 14 Biscuits and Gravy

Photo by Ravyn_Lady_Heresy

Photo by Ravyn_Lady_Heresy

1 Kings 12:20-13:34;  Acts 9:26-43;  Psalm 132:1-8;  Proverbs 17:6

Children’s children are a crown to the aged,

 and parents are the pride of their children.”

Proverbs 17:6

 

Yesterday the washer and dryer hummed away while I did the last loads of laundry for my middle son who is soon to be married.  It was a pleasure to do such tasks as I sorted and treated and folded and matched and stacked many socks, many shirts, many pants and shorts!

I thanked God for the privilege of raising this son of mine.  I remembered with joy all the times he gave me grief and brought intense pride, happiness and worry (he’s very adventuresome!) and how mothering him kept me close to my Lord whom I sought for wisdom and guidance and direction, and who never failed to nudge me in a direction that benefited my middle son.

Fixing biscuits and gravy and a blueberry/watermelon compote early this morning for his send off breakfast was as much a treat for me as it was for my son who loves good home cooked food.  And I was reminded of the sacred food God nourishes me with through His Word and Sacrament–food that will sustain me till I reach my Father’s home.

A chapter will close on mothering my middle son, but a new one begins next week with a wonderful bride at his side.  Our family will gain another female–yeah!  I’ve been outnumbered for so many years!  And Lord willing, I’ll be numbered among  the “aged” in years to come who sees her children’s children!

Thank you Heavenly Father for this family you have blessed me with.  On the eve of Father’s Day, thank you for the God-fearing, outdoorsy, nature loving Dad I have.  The one who let me tag along on hunting and fishing excursions, who helped me find rocks, and identify wildlife and plants, and to see the beauty in God’s creation.  And who, unbeknownst to him, prepared me to be the mother of three sons!

Thank you for my wonderful husband who has patiently endured my outdoor loves and enriched them with his love for all things social, political and religious.  Together, by your Grace O Lord, we’ve raised three sons for whom we give you all our thanks and praise.

And speaking of Father and sons, thank you Lord God for sending your beloved Son, Jesus Christ, to be our Savior and Redeemer so that through faith in Him we could call you Our Father.  In Your Son’s name I pray, Amen.

8 thoughts on “June 14 Biscuits and Gravy

  1. beautiful post–and much love to your entire family during this roller coaster ride of emotion–which will be full and rich with joy—and now you must provide the recipe for this lovely picture as I am simply famished right about now 🙂
    I’ll be thinking and praying for you all throughout the upcoming week and weekend—love and hugs—julie
    one queen mum to another queen mum 🙂

    • Thanks for your thoughts and prayers Julie! The photo came from PhotoBucket and not my kitchen! However I did use Bob Evans Sausage with a mean white sauce with lots of cracked pepper to pour over the pop out of the tube flaky biscuits! Steve liked them! 🙂 Cheers to all June Mothers of the Groom! Laura

Leave a Reply

