June 28 Help and Hope

Photo by Reggie Tiangco

Photo by Reggie Tiangco

2 Kings 13:1-14:29;  Acts 18:23-19:12;  Psalm 146:1-10;  Proverbs 18:2-3

“Praise the Lord!  Praise the Lord, O my soul!  I will praise the Lord as long as I live; I will sing praise to my God while I have my being.” 

DON’T 

“put your trust in princes or presidents or prime ministers in whom there is no salvation.  When his breath departs, he returns to the earth, on that very day his plans perish.”

DO

seek help from the God of Jacob.”

DO

hope in the Lord your God who created heaven and earth, the sea and all that is in them, whose faith never ends, who delivers justice for the oppressed, and who feeds the hungry.”

DO

put your faith in the Lord who sets the prisoners free; who opens the eyes of the blind and lifts up those who are bent over with burdens, who loves you, who watches over those without a permanent dwelling place,  stands by the widows and orphans and who will lay low forever those who do evil.”

DO

praise the One who will reign forever.  Praise Father, Son and Holy Spirit.  Praise the Lord!”

~ Paraphrasing Psalm 146

Lord God, search my heart and see if I have kept faith with faithless ones who cannot save me.  Forgive me for harboring false gods and trusting in them rather than You to provide all that I need in this life.  Thank you for your faithfulness to me, for saving my soul through your Son, Jesus Christ, for His willing sacrifice on the Cross and for Your power that raised him from the dead.  May I remember your faithfulness and your promises and give You all thanks and praise for Jesus’ sake!  Amen.

2 thoughts on “June 28 Help and Hope

Leave a Reply

