July 3 Zeal Reveal

Colorado2 Kings 22:3-23:30;  Acts 21:37-22:16;  Proverbs 18:11-12;  Psalm 1:1-6

“Paul, standing on the steps, motioned with his hand to the people.  And when there was a great hush, he addressed them:…’ I am a Jew, born in Tarsus in Cilicia, but brought up in this city, educated at the feet of Gamaliel according to the strict manner of the law of our fathers, being zealous for God as all of you are this day.  I persecuted the Way to the death binding and delivering to prison both men and women…

“As I was on my way and drew near to Damascus, about noon, a great light from heaven suddenly shone about me.  And I fell to the ground and heard a voice saying to me, ‘Saul, Saul, why are you persecuting me?’ “I am Jesus of Nazareth whom you are persecuting.’ ‘Rise and go into Damascus and there you will be told all that is appointed for you to do…’

And Paul was told…

“The God of our Fathers appointed you to know his will, to see the Righteous One, and to hear from his mouth; for you will be a witness for him to everyone of what you have seen and heard.”

Acts 22:1-15

Stopped in his tracks

   Blinded by the Light

the voice of Jesus

  cut to Paul’s heart.

Knees gave way,

  he knelt before

the Risen One

  with power to save,

    to change a life,

       turn it around.

Zeal met zeal–

one worldly, one holy.

Paul would never be the same,

   his life no longer his own.

On a new mission,

    sent by Christ Himself

        the story of Salvation to tell,

Paul went, he suffered, he died for

the Zeal revealed

     to him.

Lord God, You have revealed Your will to me through the water and Word of Baptism–you have called me by name to be your own.  Fill me with your zeal–your love for the lost.  Give me a heart tender and true to your Word to take to the streets your message of mercy and hope and forgiveness through Jesus.  Open my lips that I might speak confidently, confess boldly, testify honestly the hope that lies within me–that without you I am nothing, but in You I am whole.  For Jesus’ sake, Amen.

Leave a Reply

