July 14 Blown Over

Photo by Jared Rarick

Photo by Jared Rarick

1 Chronicles 16:37-18:17;  Romans 2:1-24;  Psalm 10:16-18;  Proverbs 19:8-9

“Thus you shall say to my servant David, ‘Thus says the Lord of hosts, I took you from the pasture, from following the sheep to be prince over my people Israel…I have been with you wherever you have gone and have cut off your enemies…I will make for you a name…I will appoint a place for my people…and will plant them…I will subdue your enemies…the Lord will build you a house… I will raise up offspring after you…I will establish his kingdom…I will establish his throne forever.  I will be to him a father and he shall be to me a son.  I will not take away my steadfast love from him…but I will confirm him in my house and my kingdom forever and his throne shall be established forever.”

“Then David went in and sat before the Lord and said, “Who am I O Lord God, and what is my house, that you have brought me thus far?”  1 Chronicles 18:7-16

 

Sometimes good news just knocks your feet right out from under you and you need to sit down.  Have you ever felt that way?  After hearing God’s Word through the prophet Nathan, David just had to sit down–and he did so before the presence of the Lord.

Who wouldn’t be blown over with news of a never ending dynasty with never ending blessings, of enemies defeated once and for all, of a forever peace?

Listen to the news reports from around the world.  We are still longing, still waiting for peace.  The good news is that the one king able to bring lasting peace is coming again!  Just as he left this world, Jesus Christ will come down riding on the clouds in all His glory.

I think I will have to sit down!

Lord God, who am I to inherit a place in your Heavenly Kingdom?  I’m not a princess.  I don’t even come close.   I am humbled that through the faith given to me through the Holy Spirit and Your Word I will stand (maybe sit) before your  throne.  I thank and praise you for Christ’s blood shed on the cross for me and everyone else that cleansed me of my sins and bestowed on me the robe of righteousness.  All of this you did out of Fatherly divine grace and mercy-thank you.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

