July 17 Rescued

Photo by Simeon Hughes

Photo by Simeon Hughes

1 Chronicles 24:1-26:11;  Romans 4:1-12;  Psalm 13:1-6;  Proverbs 19:15-16

“How long, O Lord?  Will you forget me forever?  How long will you hide your face from me?  How long must I take counsel in my soul and have sorrow in my heart all the day?  How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?  Consider and answer me, O Lord, my God;  light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death, lest my enemies say, “I have prevailed over him,” lest my foes rejoice because I am shaken.  But I have trusted in your steadfast love;  my heart shall rejoice in your Salvation.  I will sing to the Lord for he has dealt bountifully with me.” Psalm 13: 1-6

There are days when the sun

shines brightly,

but my eyes dimly see

for the anguish

which clouds my vision.

Dark times

deep inside me

trouble roils

and evil coils to strike

again and again

without relief.

I cry out, “My God,

why have you forsake me?”

Or so it seems.

It is not so.

He has not forsaken,

nor forgotten.

He cried out the same

from high upon

the accursed tree.

My Savior was forsaken.

It seems his enemies

did triumph

and that he lost

to sin, death and the devil.

Yet He was raised

to light up my eyes

and give me hope;

to release me from

the inward snares.

Faith springs me free,

breaks the bonds

of sin.

I rejoice in my Savior

and once again

see clearly

through His eyes

the path laid out

for me.

Lord God, thank you for rescuing me time and again from the dark places where my own efforts fail and land in a heap.  Your Salvation reaches out to me and lifts me out of all my troubles and sets me on solid ground.  For this I give you thanks and praise.  Thank you Lord Jesus, for your unending grace and mercy.  Help me live this day for you.  In your Name I pray, Amen.

One thought on “July 17 Rescued

Leave a Reply

