August 6 Direct Me, Lord

Stardust
Ezra 3:1-4:24; 1 Corinthians 2:6-3:4; Psalm 28:1-9; Proverbs 20:24-25

“A man’s steps are from the Lord, how then can man understand his way?” Proverbs 20:24

“The heart of a man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps.” Proverbs 16:9

“Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.” Proverbs 19:21

I am bent in my own way,
headstrong and determined,
but God bends me back,
molds me,
shapes me,
kneads me useful
for His purpose.
I make my to-do lists
long,
detailed,
triumphant
based on my priorities,
my goals,
my objectives
but as a child of the Heavenly Father
I admit that His list for me
takes precedence:
love, believe, share, witness,
forgive, serve, sacrifice
and I pray that I will
accomplish what He wills
for me this day.

Lord God, Just as Jesus was obedient to your to-do list, may I be faithful as well by your grace and power. Grant that my words and deeds this day be directed by You. May I trust You to accomplish what You will through me. For Jesus’ sake, Amen.

Leave a Reply

