August 11 First Words

Image by Joel Joseph

Image by Joel Joseph


Nehemiah 1:1-3:14; 1 Corinthians 7:1-24; Psalm 31:19-24; Proverbs 21:4

“Oh how abundant is your goodness, which you have stored up for those who fear you
and worked for those who take refuge in you, in the sight of the children of mankind.
In the cover of your presence you hide them from the plots of men;
you store them in your shelter from the strife of tongues.
Blessed be the Lord for he has wondrously shown his steadfast love to me
when I was in a besieged city.
I had said in alarm, “I am cut off from your sight.”
But you heard the voice of my pleas for mercy when I cried to you for help.
Love the Lord all you his saints!
The Lord preserves the faithful, but abundantly repays the one who acts in pride.
Be strong and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for the Lord! Psalm 31:19-24

When the winds blow
and the fires rage
may my first words be
“Lord, help me!”

Surrounded by insurmountable obstacles
may my first words be
“Lord, help me!”

A lifetime reveals
His faithfulness to me–
Faith intact
Hope alive
Spirit refreshed.

I face each new day trusting
in His first Words to me
“You are my child
by Water and the Word.
Your sins are washed away.
Peace be with you always.”

Thank you Lord Jesus, for your Word that made me your child and gave me new life. Thank you for hearing my many pleas for help throughout my life and for answering. Not always in ways that make sense to me, but in ways that are good for me. Please hear the cries for mercy and help that are coming to you this day from Iraq and Ferguson, MO–pleas for deliverance and justice. May your will be done, for Jesus’ sake, Amen.

Leave a Reply

