August 12 Surround Sound

photo by M Jones

photo by M Jones

 Nehemiah 3:15-5:13;  1 Corinthians 7:25-40;  Psalm 32:1-11;  Proverbs 21:5-7

“Therefore, let everyone who is godly

pray to you while you may be found;

surely when the mighty waters rise, they will not reach him.

You are my hiding place;  you will protect me from troubles

and surround me with songs of deliverance.

I will instruct you and teach you in the way

you should go;

I will counsel you and watch over you.

Rejoice in the Lord and be glad, you righteous;

sing, all you who are upright in heart.”

Psalm 32:6-8,11

Difficulties and distractions

hard choices and rocky paths

clanging contradictions

 pounding heart beat of panic and fear

all threaten to drown out

the sound of my Savior’s voice-

the sweet sound

calming sound

steady sound

of His redeeming love song

which alone can soothe

heal

protect.

“Amazing grace how sweet the sound…”

His words of comfort and hope

surround me

“Fear not, for I am with you;

be not dismayed, for I am your God;

I will strengthen you,

I will help you,

I will uphold you

with my righteous right hand.”

Isaiah 4:10

Lord God, your mercies are new every morning.  Thank you for providing the sweetest sound in all the world–‘your sins are forgiven…you are my child…the apple of my eye…I take great delight in you.’  May I always remember my Savior’s words on the Cross “It is finished.”  He accomplished what I could not and for that I give you thanks and praise.  Help me to live this day for you.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

