August 25 Intercessor

Photo by Travis Silva

Photo by Travis Silva

Job 16:1-19:29;  1 Corinthians 16:1-24;  Psalm 40:1-10;  Proverbs 22:1

“Then Job replied: “I have heard many things like these;

miserable comforters are you all!

Will your long winded speeches never end?

O earth, do not cover my blood;

may my cry never be laid to rest!

Even now my witness is in heaven;

my advocate is on high.

My intercessor is my friend

as my eyes pour out tears to God;

on behalf of a man he pleads with God

as a man pleads for his friend.”

Job 16:1-3,18-21

 

“My little children, I am writing these things

to you so that you may not sin.  But if anyone

does sin, we have an advocate with the Father,

Jesus Christ the righteous.  He is the

propitiation  (the satisfaction for the demands of God’s law)

for our sins, and not for ours only but also for the

sins of whole world.”

1 John 2:1-2

 

The One above

prays for the one below

with sighs and groanings

deep.

The Father listens

to His Son

who never once did sin,

petitioning on behalf of

him

who cries out

in Jesus’ name.

“Lord, have mercy

on me a sinner.”

Night and day

our Savior pleads

and comes before the throne.

Never will He

end his prayers

and say the last

amen

until His beloved

join with Him

around that Throne

in Heaven.

 

 

2 thoughts on “August 25 Intercessor

Leave a Reply

