Septmeber 5 Shepherd Of My Soul

Photo by Scott Foster

Photo by Scott Foster

Ecclesiastes 10:1-12:14;  2 Corinthians 8:1-15;  Psalm 49:1-20;  Proverbs 22:20-21

“The words of the wise are like goads, and like nails firmly fixed are the collected sayings;  they are given by one Shepherd.  My son, beware of anything beyond these.  Of making many books there is no end, and much study is weariness of the flesh.  The end of the matter:  all has been heard.  Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man.  For God will bring every deed  into judgement, with every secret thing, whether good or evil.”  Ecclesiastes 12:11-14

~

“You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all

your soul and with all your mind.

This is the great and first commandment.

And a second is like it:

You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”

Matthew 22:37-39

 

Jesus, Shepherd of my soul

Walk with me today

Goad me on with

Your pure word

Let me turn away

From all that tempts

My weakened flesh

That causes me to stray.

 

Jesus, Shepherd of my soul

Forgive my wayward sin

My self-seeking-centeredness

That doesn’t want you in.

Lead me out of darkness

And let me see your light.

Make my feet secure

Willing to do what’s right.

 

Jesus, Shepherd of my soul

I give you thanks and praise

For your faithful, tender

Care of me

Despite my willful ways.

You will forever be

My only source of joy

 My heart’s true delight.

Glory, glory ever be,

Jesus Savior

All to thee!

4 thoughts on “Septmeber 5 Shepherd Of My Soul

Leave a Reply

