September 8 The Sickness and The Cure

Pierce Brantley Cure

Isaiah 1:1-2:22;  2 Corinthians 10:1-18;  Psalm 52:1-9;  Proverbs 22:26-27

“Ah sinful nation,

a people laden with iniquity

offspring of evildoers

children who deal corruptly!

They have forsaken the Lord

they have despised the Holy One of Israel

they are utterly estranged.

 

Why will you be struck down?

Why will you continue to rebel?

The whole head is sick

and the whole heart faint.

From the sole of the foot even

to the head

there is no soundness in it,

but bruises and sores

and raw wounds;

they are not pressed out or bound up

or softened with oil.

 

Wash yourselves;

make yourselves clean;

remove the evil of your deeds from

before my eyes;

cease to do evil,

learn to do good;

seek justice,

correct oppression;

bring justice to the fatherless,

plead the widow’s cause.

 

Come now let us reason together,

says the Lord;

though your sins are like scarlet,

they shall be as white as snow;

though they are red as crimson,

they will become like wool.”

Isaiah  1:4-6, 16-18

 

Estranged from Most Holy God

at birth I knew Him not

Daughter of Eve

my sin trailed behind me,

moved before me

kept me in the dark

until the cleansing water flowed

His Word filled me,

healed me,

bound up my tattered

soul.

Jesus turned the darkness

into light

switched off

the blood-red night.

 

A child of God I now greet

the day

hope-filled and renewed.

O Lord God, thank you for delivering me from the darkness of sin, for opening my eyes to see your glory, and for turning my face toward your Light.  All this you’ve done because of your great love.  I am humbled and awed by your Grace.  Thank you Lord.  I give you thanks and praise!  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

