September 23 Personalized Grace, Personalized Mission

Photo by Laura Jostes

Photo by Laura Jostes

Isaiah 41:17-43:13;  Ephesians 2:1-22;  Psalm 67:1-7;  Proverbs 23:29-35

“Fear not, for I have redeemed you;  I have summoned you by name; you are mine.  When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;  and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you.  When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.  For I am the Lord, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your God, your Savior.”  Isaiah 43:1-3

Called and sent out

tattooed with grace

on my heart,

Baptismal promise

directs my steps

to care for others,

to love and serve

lift up and share

God’s gifts.

Empowered by the Spirit

He takes me through

rough times and smooth

carries me through

the deepest waters

shields from the hottest fires.

He’ll lead me on

til  “my rest is won,”

because He loves me

pure and simple…

He loves me.

Gracious Heavenly Father, thank you for calling me by name and putting the seal of the Holy Spirit on my heart; for protecting me from all harm and danger; for giving my life meaning and purpose; for giving me something to do; for loving me.  Forgive me for the many times I have taken your great gift of grace for granted; for failing to seek your kingdom first;  for not loving my neighbor as myself.  For Jesus’ sake forgive my sins and renew a right spirit within me so that your light can shine through me.  In your dear Son’s Name I pray, Amen.

“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith–and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God–not by works, so that no one can boast.  For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”  Ephesians 2:8-10

Leave a Reply

