September 26 Yes, I do!

Photos by Laura Jostes

Photos by Laura Jostes

Isaiah 48:12-50:11;  Ephesians 4:17-32;  Psalm 69:1-18;  Proverbs 24:5-6

“Now I say and testify in the Lord, that you must no longer walk as the Gentiles (unbelievers) do, in the futility of their minds.  They are darkened in their understanding, alienated from the life of God because of the ignorance that is in them, due to the hardness of heart.  They have become callous and have given themselves up to sensuality, greedy to practice every kind of impurity.

“But that is not the way you learned Christ!–assuming you have heard about him and were taught in him, as the truth is in Jesus, to put off your old self which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, and to be renewed in the Spirit of your minds, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.”  Ephesians 4:17-24

Golden butter

I know Jesus,

yes, I do.

I know Jesus,

how ’bout you?

I know His ways,

yes, I do.

I know His ways,

how ’bout you?

I walk in His ways,

yes, I do.

I walk in His ways,

how ’bout you?

~

Not because I’m “special.”

Not because of what I’ve done.

But, all because of Jesus,

all that He has done.

He paid the price

with His own life

to free me from my sin,

to give me new life

through faith

that I might walk with Him.

A new change of clothes

were given me

through the Water and the Word,

a miracle!

For apart from Christ

I’d be dressed in a different

set of garb.

My heart would still

be hard.

So pretty

Thank you, Jesus, for clothing me in your white robe of righteousness purchased for me on Calvary’s unbecoming Cross.  May my life reflect the new life I have through faith in You.  Help me to remember the great clothing exchange at my Baptism–the heart exchange–the life exchange–the giving up of the Old Adam, for the New.  May my thoughts, words and actions today bear witness to the only life worth living–the life in You.  In your dear name I pray, Amen.

“And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption.  Let all bitterness and wrath and hatred and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice.  Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.”  Ephesians 4:30-32

4 thoughts on “September 26 Yes, I do!

  1. Stumbled upon your blog and I am blessed for it. I have been looking for other Christian blogs like mine for inspiration and i definitely found it on yours…God Bless.

Leave a Reply

